Naruto Discussion Forum

Naruto Discussion Forum (http://forum.naruto.viz.com/index.php)
-   Technical Issues (http://forum.naruto.viz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Malware from the site? (http://forum.naruto.viz.com/showthread.php?t=116661)

Cyl 07-09-2012 05:21 PM

Malware from the site?
 
This shows up everytime I try to click Miss Kitty's thread "It was so hot today"
http://i1164.photobucket.com/albums/...whatisthis.png

Sheelah 07-09-2012 05:37 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Well I'm not going there then. O.0 Thanks for the warning.

BoxHead 07-09-2012 05:44 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Only THAT thread?

Cyl 07-09-2012 05:51 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sheelah (Post 6133705)
Well I'm not going there then. O.0 Thanks for the warning.

I think someone may have posted a pic from that site on that thread. I clicked go anyways and I can view the thread.
Quote:

Originally Posted by boxhead327 (Post 6133716)
Only THAT thread?

Yes, only when I clicked THAT thread the warning popped up.

Jonesy 07-09-2012 05:51 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Someone probably posted a link or picture in that thread that contains malware.

Cyl 07-09-2012 05:53 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jonesy (Post 6133721)
Someone probably posted a link or picture in that thread that contains malware.

That's what I was thinking.

J-Sun Tasogare 07-09-2012 06:41 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
I think it is in someone's avatar or signature I also got it in the Sign Up thread.

Nick Tasogare 07-09-2012 06:48 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
I've gotten it in a couple WS Threads.

Ryuuko 07-09-2012 06:49 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
I got the notice in the WS signup thread too, when I tried to look at it earlier.

Red 07-09-2012 09:44 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
The thing is somebody posted a picture that traces back to Damn LOL, a website that's linked to Facebook that has a lot of stupid and annoying but sometimes funny pictures. Some of the links contain malware though, and you can only get them by visiting the site, not by viewing the thread. So you should be safe as long as you don't click around, but even so, the picture itself likely doesn't contain malware, so you shouldn't have too much to worry about. :)

Cyl 07-09-2012 10:09 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Red (Post 6134042)
The thing is somebody posted a picture that traces back to Damn LOL, a website that's linked to Facebook that has a lot of stupid and annoying but sometimes funny pictures. Some of the links contain malware though, and you can only get them by visiting the site, not by viewing the thread. So you should be safe as long as you don't click around, but even so, the picture itself likely doesn't contain malware, so you shouldn't have too much to worry about. :)

Can this hurt the site? You know Norton and all of those sites label safe and unsafe sites...will this/these picture(s) label this an unsafe site for those anti spyware programs?

Neaohi 07-09-2012 10:58 PM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Maybe this has something to do with the DNS Malware going on. Until then STAY AWAY from that site.

Sajuuk 07-10-2012 01:07 AM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
These forums are perfectly safe. It's just that someone is using an image from a site Norton or your AV believes contains malware. You can disable signatures from appearing by going to UserCP -> Edit Options -> Thread Display Options -> Visible Post Elements -> Disable Signatures

Shikamaru Nara 07-10-2012 06:20 AM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cyl (Post 6134080)
Can this hurt the site? You know Norton and all of those sites label safe and unsafe sites...will this/these picture(s) label this an unsafe site for those anti spyware programs?

Nope. We can't post anything on the Homepage or Forum Homepage, so the chances that that will happen are slim. I doubt it would mark the whole site as a threat.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sajuuk (Post 6134425)
These forums are perfectly safe. It's just that someone is using an image from a site Norton or your AV believes contains malware. You can disable signatures from appearing by going to UserCP -> Edit Options -> Thread Display Options -> Visible Post Elements -> Disable Signatures

It's the links in the thread, not signatures.

Sajuuk 07-10-2012 06:43 AM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shikamaru Nara (Post 6134759)
It's the links in the thread, not signatures.

Links in a post are not going to trigger anti-virus warnings. It's more like images in signatures or posts which do appear on the page, hence I am suggesting disabling viewing of signatures in case it's just a bad signature (the most common source of malware warnings)

Nick Tasogare 07-10-2012 07:23 AM

Re: Malware from the site?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sajuuk (Post 6134789)
Links in a post are not going to trigger anti-virus warnings. It's more like images in signatures or posts which do appear on the page, hence I am suggesting disabling viewing of signatures in case it's just a bad signature (the most common source of malware warnings)

Except for the whole bit where I got the Malware Warning in one of my SG Discussions just now, and signatures don't appear there. Its images in posts, only thing it really can be.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.